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To:  Workers’ Compensation Payors 
 
From:   Dr. Rick Farmer, Executive Director 
 
Re:  NOTICE OF ASSESSMENT RATE - July 1, 2014 through June 30, 2015   
  MULTIPLE INJURY TRUST FUND ASSESSMENT per Title 85A  O.S., §31 
       
Date:  May 1, 2014 

 
The Multiple Injury Trust Fund (MITF) assessment rate to be charged in accordance with 85A O.S., §31 
for the four-quarter period of July 1, 2014 through June 30, 2015 is six percent (6.00%) of anyone of the 
following: 
 

• Gross direct premiums written for workers’ compensation for risks located in this state (for 
insurance carriers and CompSource Oklahoma); 

• Normal premiums (for group self-insurance associations); or 

• Actual paid losses (for individual self-insured employers). 
 
The rate was calculated using a statutory formula.  The formula involves dividing the gross direct written 
premium, normal premium and actual paid losses reported by workers’ compensation payors for 
calendar year 2014 ($1,014,897,799) into $98,740,000 [the sum of the MITF’s outstanding obligations 
for calendar year 2015 ($96,190,000), as reported by the MITF, and $2,550,000 fixed by law for funding 
various state programs related to worker safety and workers’ compensation fraud prosecution]. 
 
Assessments are due on the 15th day of the month following the end of the calendar quarter and are 
based on the payor’s premiums or losses (as applicable) during the quarter.  The assessment due on July 
15, 2014 (for the period of April 1, 2014 through June 30, 2014) is to be calculated at the existing five 
and eighteen one hundredths percent (5.18%) rate.  The new six percent (6.00%) rate applies beginning 
July 1, 2014 (i.e. the third quarter of calendar year 2014) until June 30, 2015.  Notice of the assessment 

rate for subsequent four-quarter periods is provided as required by Title 85A  O.S., §31.  Quarterly 
reminder notices will NOT be provided. 
 
A summary of the payment due dates and calculation of the assessment for the four-quarter period of 
July 1, 2014 through June 30, 2015 follows: 
 
 
 



 Payment Due October 15, 2014  For the third quarter of calendar year 2013- Assessment 
amount is 6.00% of premiums or losses, as applicable, for 
the period of July 1, 2014 through September 30, 2014. 

 
 Payment Due January 15, 2015  For the fourth quarter of calendar year 2014- Assessment 

amount is 6.00% of premiums or losses, as applicable, for 
the period of October 1, 2014 through December 31, 
2014. 

 
 Payment Due April 15, 2015  For the first quarter of calendar year 2014- Assessment 

amount is 6.00% of premiums or losses, as applicable, for 
the period of January 1, 2015 through March 31, 2015. 

 
Payment Due July 15, 2015 For the second quarter of calendar year 2015- Assessment  

amount is 6.00% of premiums or losses, as applicable, for 
the period of April 1, 2015 through June 30, 2015. 

 
The Workers’ Compensation Multiple Injury Trust Fund (MITF) Assessment Report form may be accessed 
by linking directly with the Tax Commission’s web site at:  
 

http://www.tax.ok.gov/wcforms.html  
 
Complete the report, and mail it with your remittance by the appropriate due date to: 
 

OKLAHOMA TAX COMMISSION 
Account Maintenance Division 

Special Taxes 
2501 North Lincoln Boulevard 

Oklahoma City, Oklahoma 73194-0004 
 
Retain a copy of the completed report for your records.  Failure to timely remit the assessment, or to 
notify that payment was made, may result in administrative penalties, including but not limited to, the 
greater of $500 or 1% of the unpaid amount.  By law, notice of each assessment payment must be given 
to the Oklahoma Insurance Commissioner (if you are an insurance carrier or CompSource Oklahoma) or 
to the Workers’ Compensation Commission Executive Director (if you are an individual self-insured 
employer or group self-insurance association).  Mail notice of payment as instructed at the bottom of 
your Workers’ Compensation Multiple Injury Trust Fund (MITF) Assessment Report form. 
 
Direct questions about the assessment rate to Mark.Bolerjack@MITF.ok.gov or 
Andrea.Bair@wcc.ok.gov. Direct questions about remittance of the assessment to the Oklahoma Tax 
Commission, Account Maintenance Division, (405) 521-3938.  Direct questions about refunds and the 
tax rebate related to the assessment to the Oklahoma Tax Commission, Taxpayer Assistance Division, 
(405) 521-3160. 
 
NOTE:  State law permits a two-thirds(2/3) rebate of MITF assessments paid each tax year.  The request 

form for the rebate is available at www.wcc.ok.gov by linking directly with the Tax Commission’s web 

site at www.tax.ok.gov/wcforms.html.  To avoid a ten percent (10%) reduction in the amount of the 

rebate for assessments paid for the preceding tax year, submit the rebate to the Oklahoma Tax 

Commission annually by May 31.
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NOTICE 
 

Re: Multiple Injury Trust Fund Assessment Rate 
 
In accordance with 85A O.S., §31, the Multiple Injury Trust Fund (MITF) assessment rate to be 
charged for the four-quarter period of July 1, 2014 through June 30, 2015 shall be 6.00% of 
anyone of the following: 
 
• Gross direct premiums written for workers’ compensation for risks located in this state 

(for insurance carriers and CompSource Oklahoma); 
• Normal premiums (for group self-insurance associations); or 
• Actual paid losses (for individual self-insured employers). 
 
The rate was calculated using a statutory formula.  The formula involves dividing the gross direct written 
premium, normal premium and actual paid losses reported by workers’ compensation payors for 
calendar year 2014 ($1,014,897,799) into $98,740,000 [the sum of the MITF’s outstanding obligations 
for calendar year 2015 ($96,190,000), as reported by the MITF, and $2,550,000 fixed by law for funding 
various state programs related to worker safety and workers’ compensation fraud prosecution]. 

 
Assessments are due on the 15th day of the month following the end of the calendar quarter 
and are based on the payor’s premiums or losses (as applicable) during the quarter.  The 
assessment reporting form may be accessed directly from the Oklahoma Tax Commission web 
site at http://www.tax.ok.gov/wcforms.html. 
 
Assessment rates since the inception of the law are as follows: 
 
    Assessment Period              Rate 

 

    1/1/02 - 6/30/02  6.00% 
    7/1/02 - 6/30/03  6.00% 
    7/1/03 - 6/30/04  2.95% 
    7/1/04 - 6/30/05  3.63% 
    7/1/05 - 6/30/06  3.83% 
    7/1/06 - 6/30/07  3.46% 
    7/1/07 - 6/30/08  2.14% 
    7/1/08 - 6/30/09  2.50% 
    7/1/09 - 6/30/10  2.60% 
    7/1/10 - 6/30/11  2.59% 
    7/1/11 - 6/30/12           1.98% 
    7/1/12 - 6/30/13          3.39% 
    7/1/13 - 6/30/14           5.18% 
    7/1/14 - 6/30/15  6.00% 
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