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 OKLAHOMA STATE BOARD OF PHARMACY 

 INACTIVE & SENIOR INACTIVE LICENSURE 
 
History 

The requirement of fifteen (15) clock hours of continuing education (CE) for pharmacist registration renewal 
and reciprocity began in 1975. 

INACTIVE renewal was created in 1976 to allow renewal without CE for pharmacists not practicing 
pharmacy in Oklahoma.  (O.S., Title 59, Section 366.) 
 SENIOR INACTIVE renewal was created in 1998 for pharmacists age 65 and over. 
 
Advantages 

Pharmacists may renew their license in the Inactive or Senior Inactive status without completing the 
continuing education requirement. (Note: the renewal fee is not waived - only the CE) 

Inactive and Senior Inactive renewal allows a pharmacist to retain his registration to qualify for a 50-Year 
Gold Certificate. 

Unlike a lapsed or canceled license, there is no continuing education penalty when returning to ACTIVE 
from INACTIVE or SENIOR INACTIVE.   
 
Disadvantages 

Pharmacists with an Inactive or Senior Inactive registration MAY NOT, under any circumstances, 
practice pharmacy in the State of Oklahoma.   

A license remains Inactive or Senior Inactive until the pharmacist completes the process to return to Active 
status.  A license must be Active in order to use it for reciprocity.  Some states may require the maintenance of an 
active original license in order to keep a reciprocal license.   
 
How? 

INACTIVE.  You may place your license on INACTIVE status at the time of annual renewal by choosing 
"Inactive" during the on-line renewal process.  Inactive renewal does not waive the renewal fee - you must still 
submit the required fee.  No CE is required. 

 
SENIOR INACTIVE.  If you are age 65 or over, you may place your license on SENIOR INACTIVE status 

at the time of annual renewal by choosing "Senior Inactive" during the on-line renewal process.  Senior Inactive 
renewal requires a renewal fee of $20.  No CE is required. 
 
Returning to Active (please contact the Board office for your personal requirements) 

Inactive and Senior Inactive pharmacists will be required to submit the following in order to convert to 
ACTIVE status: 

a) Provide a letter indicating your involvement in the practice of pharmacy during the period of 
Inactive or Senior Inactive status. 

b) Provide verification (i.e. completion certificates) of 15 hours of CE for each year your license 
was on Inactive or Senior Inactive status.  

c) Submit the required fee(s) as determined by the Board. 
o Senior Inactive must submit the difference in fees between Senior Inactive and Active 

for each year of Senior Inactive status.   
 
You may be requested to appear before the Board.  If the Board feels that your experience is inadequate to 

allow you to safely return to practice in Oklahoma, they may require you to complete a number of hours under 
pharmacist supervision prior to returning to ACTIVE status. 
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