Commonly Asked Questions About the New Dental Assistant Registration
Requirement from SB 684 that went into effect July 1, 2013.

The New Law Requires ALL dental assistants to register for a permit even if they
do not have any expanded duty permits.

a. If you have an assistant that has a CURRENT expanded duty permit sent from
the Board that is marked 2013 dental assistant permit for coronal polishing, ,
sealants or ASSISTING in the administration of nitrous oxide, they are already
registered and do not need to re-register as a dental assistant. If we get an
application from someone that has a current valid permit, we are crediting it for
next year’s permit and sending them a 2014 permit. Below is an example of a
2013 dental assistant permit.
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THIS IS TO CERTIFY THAT THE UNDERNOTED HAS PAID THE ANNUAL REGISTRATION
FEE REQUIRED BY LAW FOR THE YEAR 2013 AND IS ENTITLED TO PRACTICE AS A:

DENTAL ASSISTANT

PERMIT NUMBER: _ DA9999 The following are the eligible Dental Assistant functions:
Jane P. Doe L opbeP YES Radiation Protection and Safety

2222 N. Lucky Lane &ffes NO  Coronal Polishing and Topical Fluoride

OKC, OK 73120 ¥ NO  Placement of Pit and Fissure Sealants

NO  Assisting in the Administration of Nitrous Oxide
EXPIRATION DATE: DECEMBER 31, 2013 é—gﬁm

THIS PERMIT MUST BE DISPLAYED AT ALL TIMES O DAre
b. If your dental assistant only had a radiation expanded duty permit, they are not
currently “registered” with the Board and they will need to fill out the dental
assistant application and submit it as soon as possible.

c. The dental assistants will not be able to register on the online system unless
they are currently permitted for 2013 because they are not included on the
database. If this is the first time they are applying for a permit, they must print
off the form from the website and send it in with original signatures and
documentation as requested.

d. Each dental assistant will have a permanent assigned dental assistant permit
number. This helps us and the assistants keep track of their registrations over
time and is used easily for reference.

e. Expanded duties; We do not accept expanded duty certificates for assistants
that are not already registered as a dental assistant without the dental assistant



permit form. Please make sure both forms are filled out when sending in an
expanded duty permit. If your dental assistant already has a permit, have them
attach a copy of their current permit or make sure their current information and
Dental Assistant Permit number is on the certificate before sending it to the
Board. We are returning any certificate received without the Dental Assistant
Registration. The forms for a dental assistant are on the website.

f. Each expanded duty certificate/function has a one-time fee of $10.00 and is
thereafter included on the dental assistant permit. The Dental Assistant permit
has a yearly renewal fee of $50.00.

g. For some unknown reason there are a lot of dental assistants that believe that
a dental assistant permit is like a driver’s license and their permit from another
state is valid in Oklahoma. That is simply not true. Each assistant working in
Oklahoma must have a permit issued from the Oklahoma Board of Dentistry. In
some circumstances, expanded duty functions earned in other states will be given
credit, however they must be reviewed by the Committee for Auxillary Education
appointed by the Board. Before hiring a new assistant, be sure to ask if they have
a permit from the Oklahoma Dental Board to provide the expanded duty
functions, in addition to asking what functions they can perform. Please check
our website to see a list of currently registered assistants.

h. At least two other boards including the chiropractic board also permitted
assistants this year that were not previously permitted. There are several reasons
for this, but primarily it is due to insurance companies denying claims for the
other occupations, obamacare and other changes in the medical field.

i. The law went into effect on July 1, 2013. If the new registration had not gone
into effect in July, it would have been November, then everyone would have only
had one month to get registered. We are required to have an audit every three
years. Unfortunately, the Board does not have the authority to pro-rate fees.
When the auditor reviews our files they will look at the number of permits issued
and expect the full amount for each permit to equal.

j. If you have assistants that haven’t been registered for years but have additional
expanded duty permits, please tell them not to be afraid to call us. They have
two choices, pay the back years fees, or retake the expanded duty class and start
over. Our goal is for everyone to come into compliance.




k. Unless there is an issue, we have been able to process these relatively quickly,
in most cases 3 days. However, there are mail issues arriving and departing which
adds time.

I. Please remember, dental assistants with expanded duties for coronal polishing
may do coronal polishing but NOT prophylaxis. Dental assistants with expanded
duties for assisting in nitrous oxide may ASSIST but may not ADMINISTER nitrous
oxide. Both of these are frequently confused by dental assistants that call the
Board office so please clarify these things with your assistants.

The Dental Board has moved: Our new address is:

Oklahoma Board of Dentistry
2920 N. Lincoln Blvd., Suite B
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma 73105
(405) 522-4844



