175:1-5-4. Board sanctions
(a) If it is proven that violations of the Oklahoma Cosmetology Act and Board rules and
regulations have occurred, sanctions available to the Board are:
(1) Revocation of license; or
(2) Suspension of license; or
(3) Refusal to issue license; or
(4) Placing licensee on probation.
(5) Fines for citations for violations of the Cosmetology and Barber Act or Board rules
as in Rule 175:1-5-15. Citations may be issued by the Executive Director ot an inspector
on forms approved by the Board. The citation shall be served personally or by certified
mail return receipt requested. The citation shall state the nature of the violation and the
fine assessed. The person or establishment receiving the citation may pay the fine or
contest it in a hearing before the Board conducted in accordance with the Oklahoma
Administrative Procedures Act. The citation shall state the date and location of the
hearing. The citation shall serve as sufficient notice of the hearing. If the fine is paid
prior to the date of the hearing then the matter shall be deemed final and not subject to

further review.
(b) Such matters of violation may be referred to the District Attorney or to the Attorney General
for injunctive or other relief.

175:1-5-15. Schedule of fines

(A) The fine schedule for citations issued by the Board for violations of the Cosmetology and
Barber Act or rules promulgated there under shall be subject to the fines as follows providing
each day a violation continues shall be a separate offense:

(a) €5 Engaging in cosmetology or barbering in any of the licensed practices without a
license
(1) €AY First: $250
(2) (8 Subsequent: $500
(b) €2 Employing an unlicensed person to perform cosmetology or barbering (per
person):
(1) €Ay First: $250
(2) 88} Subsequent: $500




(2) €5 Failure to comply with a specific provision of the Cosmetology and Barber Act or
rules by an individual not licensed under the Act:
(1) &) First: $250
(2) By Subsequent: $500
(h) €8} Operate a cosmetology or barber school without first obtaining a license from the
Board: J
(1) €A First: $250
(2) 88y Subsequent: $500
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(B) If the citation is paid prior to hearing date, the citation is still considered part of the
licensee’s permanent record but dismissed. After three fines, the Board may consider revocation
of license after full Board hearing.

175:10-3-1. Application for initial and renewal of schoo! license
In order to be in compliance with current Cosmetology and Barbering Act as pertains to
public and privately owned cosmetology and barber school and license issuance to cosmetolo gy
and barber schools, the application procedures for an initial (new) cosmetology and barber
school are as follows:
(1) Privately owned schools. Any person, corporation or company, who proposes to
provide cosmetology or barber training courses designed to qualify persons who complete
courses for a professional license to practice cosmetology or barbering, shall be required to
obtain a license for the private post secondary school from the Board.




(A) Letter of intent. The applicant shall first submit a letter of intent to the Board of
Cosmetology and Barbering and shall request Cosmetology or Barber School license
application forms from the Board. The letter of intent shall state at least the full name,
address and phone number of the applicant and the city where the proposed school is to
be located. If the applicant proposes to assume ownership of an existing school, the
letter of intent shall specify the name and address of the existing school.

(B) Application form. The license application form shall be completed in full making
note whether the school intends to operate as a secondary/post secondary establishment
and returned to the Board and shall contain the following information:

(1) 61 Proposed name and location (city, street and number), and a brief
description of the building.

(ii) ¢4} Name, address and phone number of the proposed owner(s). Ifa
corporation, the name, address and phone number(s) of the officers and
principal stockholders are required to be submitted.

(iii) G+ Names of Oklahoma license held and the file numbers of the persons
to be the instructors of the proposed school and that of the manager, if other
than the owner.

(C) Initial license fee; expiration date. Each initial public and privately owned
cosmetology ot barber school shall be required to pay to the Board, the initial license fee
of $400.00. Each public and privately owned school shall also pay the annual license
renewal fee of $125.00. Each school license shall expire annually on June 30", No
provision is made for pro rata of any license fee.

(D) Surety bond. A surety bond in the amount of two thousand dollars ($2,000.00) for
the first instructor and one thousand dollars ($1,000.00) for each additional instructor is
required to be submitted for cosmetology or barber school license. The bond shall be in
an amount sufficient to meet bonding requirements for all staff instructors and for each
substitute instructor for the specific school in which license application is made.




(E) Financial statement. A current financial statement of the license applicant,
prepared by a Public Accountant or a Certified Public Accountant, is required to be
submitted to the Board. The financial statement shall be prepared in accordance with
generally accepted accounting principles and shall reflect the applicant’s total property
inventory, assets and liabilities which shall show a net worth of at least one hundred

thousand dollars ($100,000. 00) for each school owned qzh*&-ﬁiﬂﬁﬂﬂt—m&s—t—be—s&fﬁe}eﬁt—te

smdeﬂ%s— Intanglble assets Wlli not be considered in net worth

(F) Proof of building lease or ownership. Applicant must obtain a lease of at least one
year or be owner of building in which school is proposed to operate. Month to Month
lease is not acceptable. Applicant must submit a copy of lease agreement.

(2) Public schools. Any public school wherein administrator or other authorized person
proposed to provided course(s) in training and education designed to qualify a person who
shall complete the public post secondary course(s) for examination and licensure, shall follow
instructions for license application procedures in (1) of this Section as may be applicable in
requesting school license application and approval from the Board.

(A) Names, address and phone number(s) of Public School Administrator and other
supervisory person (Principal, Assistant Principal, Coordinator or Counselor), of
school/department and of each instructor proposed to teach in the school shall be
submitted to the Board. File number of the instructor(s) shall be submitted.

(B) Applicant shall provide to the Board a notarized affidavit stating source of
sufficient bond coverage and that building wherein the school is proposed to be
conducted is publicly owned.

(C) Applicant shall provide phone numbers of public school main campus and school
facility and a brief general description of the facility location within campus and other
building training sections and parking areas.

(3) Privately owned school license renewal. A privately owned school license shall expire
annually on June 30™. Renewal must be received by June 30" each year,

(A) Private school license renewal application, forms and instructions are mailed
annually to schools by the Board. Forms include a surety bond renewal form, power-
of-attorney and verification form.

(B) Fee of $125.00 is required for school license renewal.

(4)_Any advertisement for recruitment of students must state school is proposed to be
open and shall not contain deceptive or misleading language and shall state that school
has applied for licensure.

175:10-3-60. Attendance and other records and requirements

(a) Minimum attendance per week. A part time schedule shall be submitted and approved by
the Board. Student shall attend a clock hour school at least three (3) hours per day, five (5) days
pet week or a total of fifteen (15) hours per week.




(b) Daily sign-in/time clock or other records maintained in a clock hour school. In addition
to maintaining a current record of student hours, clock hour schools shall keep a record of daily-
attendance Students registered in a clock hour school shall sign or clock in and out of each class
daily.

{c) Credit hour records maintained in a credit hour school. Credit hour schools shall
maintain a current record of credit hours earned by each student.

(d) Practical practice records. Clock and credit hour schools shall maintain a record of clinic
practical practices and theory credit or clock hours earned by each student.

(e) Student hour retention. School shall retain records of students for three (3) years.

(D) Record availability. All attendance and educational records shall be available during
inspection or upon request of the Board as allowed under the Cosmetology and Barbering Act.
(g} Quarterly submission of hour reports. All schools shall be required to submit a report of

student hours earned to the Board quarterly no later than January 10“‘= May 10“', September o™

November [0th

175:10-3-61. School Affidavit; hours accumulated

(a) School Affidavit upon completion, withdrawal or termination. School Affidavit shall be
submitted within five (5) days upon completion of a course (provided tuition is paid in fuil
according to confractual agreement), withdrawal, or other termination of a student for any reason
(excused absence is an exception). The School Affidavit shall reflect the total number of clock
or credit hours accumulated.

(b) School Affidavit or hours completed to be submitted with examination registration. The
School Affidavit of completed hours of training must be submitted with examination registration.
(c) Hours submitted upon course completion. Accumulated student hours shall be submitted
to the Board within five (5) days of the completion of course hours by a student if tuition is paid
in full to the school according to contractual agreement. The school owner or instructor shall
submit accumulated hours to the Board on Board approved School Affidavit to allow the student
1o be registered for examination and be issued a student work permit by the Board.

(d) Refusal to submit student hours. No school owner or instructor shall ever refuse to submit
accumulated student hours if hours are completed and tuition is paid in full according to
contractual agreement.

(e) Hours not to be adjusted as penalty for absence or rule infraction. No school owner or
instructor shall penalize a student by deducting hours from accumulated hours earned, nor shall
hours be added to the total hours required for course completion as penalty for excessive student
absence or other school infraction.

(f) Student copies of School Affidavit of completion. A student who completes a specific
course must be provided the School Affidavit of completion dated on the day of completion
provided the tuition is paid in full according to contractual agreement.

175:10-3-67. Student re-registration fee and transfer process




(a) Student re-registration. Each time a student registers, re-registers, or transfers, in addition
to other requirements, the registration fee of $5.00 must be submitted to the Board' with
registration application.

(b) Student transfer An afﬁdav1t A—s&}éem—sha}h&e{—be—aﬁewed—te—&aﬁsfef—ffem—eﬁe—seheel—t@

- AWA 3 within
five (5) days of termination prov1ded tuition is paid in full accordmg to contractual agreement,
A notarized affidavit submission is notification to the Board that tuition has been paid in full to
the school the student is transferring from.

(c) Out-of-state student transfer. A student may transfer out-of-state hours provided the
student submits the necessary proof of training to the Board for evaluation. Necessary papers
will be forwarded upon request. The reciprocity processing fee for transfer of out-of-state hours
is $30.00.

175:10-7-29. Facial procedures, devices and equipment

(a) Licensees are prohibited from performing facial procedures using cosmetic exfoliating substances or
devices that effect more than the top layer (stratum conium) or outer most layer of dead cells on the skin.
Procedures which use any cosmetic exfoliation substance or device to remove viable (living) skin below
the stratum conium are deemed beyond the scope of practice of persons and Establishments licensed by
the Board of Cosmetology and Barbering.

(b) Cosmetic exfoliating substances may include alpha hydroxyl acids (glycolic and Jactic acids), beta
hydroxyl acids, salicylic acid, Jessner’s solutions, resorcinol and other substances intended to affect no
more than the stratum conium.

(c) Cosmetic exfoliating devices may include FDA (U.S. Food and Drug Administration) registered
and/or approved devices, provided that such devices affect no more than the stratum conium.
(d)_Invasive procedures which result in the removal, destruction, incision or piercing of the skin
beyond the stratum conium is prohibited.

175:10-7-32. Kiosk Style Establishment

A kiosk stvle Establishment shall be approved to operate within an enclosed building
such as a mall or airport lounge and an Establishment license is required to operate. A hand
washing lavatory with hot and cold water under pressure. Only non-chemical hair services,

demonstrations, make-up applications, styling tool demonstrations or threading may be
performed. Sanitation and safety procedures must be followed.

175:10-7-17. License and other posting requirements

(a) Licenses shall be posted in a place easily viewed by the public.
(1) Current 2" X 3" photo of licensee is required to be posted with each license or work
permtit.
(2) Student and apprentice registration receipts and student permits to work shall be




posted conspicuously.
(3) Posting at individual work/styling station in an Establishment may be required for
inspection and identification purposes.
(b) Board Sanitation and Disinfection Rules shall be posted in each Establishment.
(¢) Code of Ethics shall be posted in each school.
(d) Current inspection reports shall be posted in a place easily viewed by the public.
(e)._All persons practicing in a salon shall be required to have a current form of photo ID on their
person and be prepared to produce it to the Inspector at time of inspection.




