Troops to Teachers


Frequently Asked Questions

See all Teacher Certification FAQs

Click on the Question to go straight to the answer.

  1. What is the Troops to Teachers program?
  2. Who qualifies for the Troops to Teachers program?
  3. Do I have to have a college degree?
  4. What type of teaching certificate must I have to teach in Oklahoma?
  5. How much financial assistance is provided to the Troops to Teachers member?
  6. How can the Troops to Teachers member use the $10,000 bonus?
  7. If I am employed in an Oklahoma school district through the Troops to Teachers program, is there a stipend paid to the local school district?
  8. Once I receive my Oklahoma certificate, can I add a subject area(s) to my certificate?

51. What is the Troops to Teachers program?

Troops to Teachers (TTT) was established in 1994 as a Department of Defense program. The National Defense Authorization Act for FY2000 transferred the responsibility for program oversight and funding to the U.S. Department of Education with continued operation by the Department of Defense. The purpose of Troops to Teachers as outlined in the No Child Left Behind Act of 2001 is to help military personnel enter a second career as teachers in schools serving low-income families. The act focuses on attracting individuals who can teach subjects with critical shortages such as math and science. However, the overall need is great, and military individuals with other backgrounds are encouraged to consider a new career in public education. For more information, refer to the TTT Web site at www.dantes.doded.mil/Sub%20Pages/TTT/TTT_Main.html.


52. Who qualifies for the Troops to Teachers program?

To qualify, a service member must meet one of the requirements below:

  • Retired from active duty.
  • Active duty member with approved date of retirement with one year or less remaining before retirement.
  • Separated on or after January 8, 2002, for a physical disability. Must register within four years after separation. Please note, medical discharge is not the same as discharge due to physical disability.
  • Retired from the Selected Reserve.
  • Currently serving in the Selected Reserve with ten or more years of creditable service toward retirement and commit to serving an additional three years or until eligible for retirement.
  • Selected Reserve personnel, separated due to a physical disability on or after January 8, 2002. Must register within four years after separation.
  • On or after January 8, 2002, immediately before separation, having served six years on active duty and willing to commit to three years with the Selected Reserve.

53. Do I have to have a college degree?

Yes. A candidate for the Troops to Teachers program must have a baccalaureate or advanced degree from an accredited institution at the time of application.


54. What type of teaching certificate must I have to teach in Oklahoma?

All military personnel requesting certification through the Troops to Teachers program must seek certification through the Alternative Placement Program. For more information, refer to Alternative Placement Information Packet (pdf).


55. How much financial assistance is provided to the Troops to Teachers member?

Financial assistance may be provided to qualified service members in the form of either a stipend of up to $5000 for teacher certification expenses for which the individual must teach three years in a “high-needs” district; or in lieu of a stipend, individuals may receive a bonus of $10,000 to teach three years in a school serving a high percentage of students from low-income families.


56. How can the Troops to Teachers member use the $10,000 bonus?

There are no restrictions on how the member uses the bonus.


57. If I am employed in an Oklahoma school district through the Troops to Teachers program, is there a stipend paid to the local school district?

No. The stipend is paid directly to the qualified service member.


58. Once I receive my Oklahoma certificate, can I add a subject area(s) to my certificate?

Yes. But effective November 1, 2009, per state statute, you can no longer add Early Childhood, Elementary Education, or Special Education to a certificate by testing, per HB 2285. For more information, refer to How to Add Areas to Teaching Certificate (pdf).

Return to Top of PageTeacher Certification FAQs

Last updated on April 23, 2012